DA leader urges Ukhozi FM listeners to not vote to Top 10, accusing the popular radio station of milking the poor

Sihle Mkhize

Nomcebo Zikode

The DA’s KwaZulu-Natal (KZN) leader, Zwakele Mncwango has voiced his concern on what he calls unethical conduct by the SABC radio station, Ukhozi FM. This after  by continuing to extort money from it’s listeners who are asked to vote for song of the year when there is an ongoing court battle regarding the event.

Owen Ndlovu claims that song of the year competition it’s his idea. People vote for their favourite song they want to listen to when they passover to new year.

The SMS voting system charges R150 per vote and people are encouraged to vote as many times as they can.

He publicly announced that uKhozi FM management are only concerned about making money and not about the Song of the Year.

“SABC and Ukhozi FM management are using listeners to make cash through SMS’s. I won’t vote and give away my money to SABC. Waste your money and vote, SABC will make money” said Mncwango.

Kelly Khumalo

Owen Ndlovu also urged listeners not to participate in voting campaigns. Ndlovu became known after filing an interdict to stop Ukhozi FM from announcing which song had won last year, leaving eagerly anticipating listeners disappointed.

The gigantic radio station was interdicted by Michael Owen Productions from announcing and playing the song of the year and Top 10.

“I warn listeners not to vote and waste their monies because the Top 10 will not be played, I also warn artists not to campaign,” Ndlovu quoted on People’s Paper.

This follows acting station manager Sbongi Ngcobo on Saturday recruiting listeners to vote and assuring them that nothing can stop station from announcing and playing their Top 10 this time around.

Amongst artists who contest on song of the year Big Zulu featuring Intaba yaseDubai and Ricky Rick, Kelly Khumalo, Khuzani ft Luve Dubazane, Igcokama Elisha, Mapara A Jazz ft Ntosh Gazi and Colano, DJ Hlo, Soa Mattrix ft Shaun 101 and Soulful G, Nomcebo Zikode ft Master KG, MFR Souls ft Major League DJz, Kamo Mphela and Bontle Smith.

Related Articles

Back to top button